Author Archive

KDL Teens are on Facebook

Wednesday, September 17th, 2008

FacebookDo you want to recieve updates on teen programs from Kent District Library?    Would you like to join our online community?  Are you a big fan of KDL already?  Are you reading this blog?  If you have answered yes to any of these, join us on our new Facebook page.  Become a “fan” of Kent District Library to see what is happening for teens at our libraries.


Posted by:


Help Us Plan the Teen Summer Reading Club for 2009!

Monday, September 15th, 2008

Teen SRCThis summer’s reading club just ended, but we are busy planning for next year.  We have a list of ideas for programs and would love to hear what you think.  The theme for ’09 is Express Yourself @ Your Library

 Here is a list of ideas:

Altered Books

Artist Trading Cards

Bleached T-Shirts

Coffee Tasting/Coffee House program

Cooking Class

Crafts

Duct Tape Crafts

Geocaching

Graffiti Art

Hip-hip Dance

Ice Cream Social

Lawn Games

Pizza Tasting and Creation

Stained Glass Art

Teen Summer Carnival

Tie-Dye T-Shirts

 

Vote on your favorites or give us some new ideas by commenting to this post.  Thanks everyone!


Posted by:


Brisingr Party at the Cascade Branch

Thursday, September 11th, 2008

BrisingrFans of Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Eldest are invited to celebrate the release of Brisingr with awesome games and crafts!  Try your hand at making soap, braiding leather bracelets and creating some dragons. Also join us for a chance to win a copy of the new book!  The event will be held at 2:00 p.m. Saturday, September 20 at the Cascade Township Branch at 2870 Jacksmith Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI.


Posted by:


Thumbs Up! Award Winners Announced

Wednesday, August 27th, 2008

Thumbs Up! Award

The Thumbs Up! Award is chosen each year by Michigan librarians and teens. The winner for 2008 is Evolution, Me, & Other Freaks of Nature by Robin Brande.

One of the honor books and teen vote winner is Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson. The other honor books are Don’t Call Me Ishmael by Michael Gerard Bauer, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie and Freak Show by James St. James.

Check out lists of past winners and our bookmark highlighting the Top Twenty books.  The chance to vote for the next Thumbs Up! Award will be in early 2009, so get ready to choose your favorites from this year!


Posted by:


Teen Design a Deck Winners Announced

Monday, August 18th, 2008

Check out the designs for our three Teen Design a Deck Contest winners, which have been posted here.

skater

Thanks to everyone who entered some awesome designs and congratulations to our winners!


Posted by:


Teen Skateboard Extravaganza

Monday, July 28th, 2008

Skateboard Extravaganza

Calling all skateboarders!  The Skateboarding Extravaganza is Saturday, August 2nd at 6pm at Modern Skate and Surf in Centerpointe Mall, 3665 28th Street SE in Grand Rapids.

Watch a professional skater and his skate team demonstrate some cool moves and get an autograph or two!


Posted by:


New Great Book I’ve Read

Monday, March 31st, 2008

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

I finished Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica George over the weekend and it was great.  The novel is based on a Finnish folktalk of a common girl and her wolf who have to travel east of the sun and west of the moon to find a Goblin castle and free her prince.  Place a hold on it here and tell me what you think!


Posted by:


New Teen Booklist!

Monday, March 24th, 2008

Since this is the month of St. Patrick’s Day and leprechauns, here is a new booklist on Creatures and Monsters in fiction.  Enjoy.


Posted by:


Another Chance to See Gary Schmidt!

Tuesday, March 11th, 2008

Wednesday WarsLizzie Bright and the Buckminster Girl

Award winning author Gary Schmidt will be speaking at the Wyoming branch Friday, March 21st at 4:00pm.  See him for FREE as he talks about his latest book, Wednesday Wars.


Posted by:


What is your favorite book so far this year?

Thursday, March 6th, 2008

Kissing the Bee

Kissing the Bee by Kathe Koja is my favorite of the last few months.  Dana, Avra and Emil are preparing for their senior-year prom, while Dana tries to finish an extensive biology project on bees.  Avra plans to attend prom with her boyfriend, Emil, then run away with him without telling anyone.  Dana becomes engrossed with her project and is also falling for Emil, but does she dare challenge Avra, “the queen bee”?

I loved this book, but tell me about your favorites of ’08!

Put Kissing the Bee on hold.


Posted by: