KDL Blog ‘News’ Category

KDL Partners with Toys for Tots

Wednesday, November 26th, 2014

Join KDL this holiday season in bringing cheer to a local child. Once again, KDL is participating in the US Marines’ Toys for Tots program, helping to provide toys to deserving children throughout the community. Drop off your new, unwrapped toys now through Thursday, December 18 at any one of these KDL branch locations:

Thank you for your generosity!


Posted by:


Holiday Closing — Thanksgiving Day

Wednesday, November 26th, 2014

Kent District Library will be closed Thursday, November 27, for Thanksgiving. We will resume normal operating hours on Friday, November 28. For additional holiday closing information, please view our holiday closings page.

We appreciate your patronage and wish you a Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving


Posted by:


Late Opening Monday, December 1

Wednesday, November 26th, 2014

All Kent District Library branches with open hours will open at 1:00 PM on Monday, December 1 in order to allow our staff to attend professional development in the morning. While we regret any temporary inconvenience this may cause, KDL’s commitment to staff training is one of the reasons we are able to provide you with such great service!

KDL Logo IEE

 


Posted by:


Winter 2014-15 KDL Kaleidoscope

Tuesday, November 25th, 2014

The Winter 2014-15 issue of the KDL Kaleidoscope program guide is now available online, and printed copies will be available soon at your local branch library. You’ll find all you need to know about winter programs and get some great information on library resources and staff recommendations.

It’s sure to be an exciting season at KDL, and you don’t want to miss a thing. Check out the KDL Kaleidoscope today!

Winter 2015 Kaleidoscope

 


Posted by:


Get Creative at the KDL Lab Programs

Monday, November 24th, 2014

kdlLabLogo_color_jpgCheck out these awesome KDL Lab programs that promote creativity and encourage you to have fun while learning. Make cool things while exploring new technology! Please click the program title for a list of dates, times and locations.

The Wonderful WaterColorBot
Watch with amazement while an image you create is recreated by our robot using watercolors, paper and a paintbrush. For all ages.

Get Revved Up
Create your own rubber band car, help us build an engine model and even design your own style of car or truck.  For all ages.

ReFashion It!
Put your creativity to the test and see what you can make with old T-shirts, other clothing items and odd pieces of fabric. We supply the tools, you bring a T-shirt and your imagination. Participants must be age 14 and older. For teens and adults.

3Doodler Dream It, Draw It
Make your drawings come to life with our 3Doodler! Create simple 3D objects from your own imagination or use some of the provided stencils. Pre-registration is required. For all ages.

***Check out WXMI Fox 17‘s new show, Morning Mix, at 9:00 AM on Monday, December 1. A segment, filmed at our Plainfield Township Branch and featuring our very own Craig Buno, will promote the KDL Lab programs. Here is a sneak peek photo:

KDL Lab Photo


Posted by:


LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites 2014 Staff Picks

Sunday, November 23rd, 2014


You already know that your local KDL staff provide great recommendations when you’re looking for your next favorite book. Now library staff across the nation have connected to offer LibraryReads, a nationwide “Top 10″ list of favorite titles each month! Check out these favorite titles of 2013–2014 that librarians across the country have read, loved, and want to share with you.

  1. The Storied Life of A. J. FikryLibraryReadsFavoriteThe Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel by Gabrielle Zevin
    “A middle-aged bookseller mourning his lost wife, a feisty publisher’s rep, and a charmingly precocious abandoned child come together on a small island off the New England coast in this utterly delightful novel of love and second chances.”
    Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
  2.  

  3. The Rosie ProjectThe Rosie Project: A Novel by Graeme Simsion
    “Don Tillman, a brilliant geneticist, thinks that having women fill out a six-page, double-sided questionnaire before a date is logical and reasonable. Rosie Jarman, an impetuous barmaid, thinks Don should loosen up and learn to live a little. Follow the unlikely pair in this laugh-out-loud, feel-good story of unexpected joys, discovery and love.”
    Paulette Brooks, Elm Grove Public Library, Elm Grove, WI
  4.  

  5. All the Light We Cannot SeeAll the Light We Cannot See: A Novel by Anthony Doerr
    “Set during World War II Europe, this novel is sobering without being sentimental. The tension builds as the alternating, parallel stories of Werner and Marie-Laure unfold, and their paths cross. I highly recommend this beautiful and compelling story.”
    Kelly Currie, Delphi Public Library, Delphi, IN
  6.  

  7. FangirlFangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    “At turns funny, sweet, smart, and sad, Fangirl traces Cath’s journey to independence as she begins college, struggles to have an identity separate from her twin sister, find her voice and passion as a writer and fall in love, maybe, for the first time. As sharp and emotionally resonant as Rowell’s previous novel, Eleanor & Park.”
    Stephanie Chase, Hillsboro Public Library, Hillsboro, OR
  8.  

  9. The GoldfinchThe Goldfinch: A Novel by Donna Tartt
    “Fans of The Secret History will rediscover the Tartt they loved back in 1992. Readers who love the novelist for her richly developed, dark, multi-layered characters and thoroughly researched topics will not be disappointed. Tartt pulls together many threads of a story across a long span of pages and into a complete masterpiece.”
    Kim Dorman, Princeton Public Library, Princeton, NJ
  10.  

  11. We Were LiarsWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart
    “This brilliant and heartbreaking novel tells the story of a prestigious family living on a private island off the coast of Massachusetts. Full of love, lies, secrets, no shortage of family dysfunction, and a shocking twist that you won’t see coming. Though this book is written for teens, it shouldn’t be overlooked by anyone looking for a fantastic read.”
    Susan Balla, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
  12.  

  13. Station ElevenStation Eleven: A Novel by Emily St. John Mandel
    “An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson.”
    Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC
  14.  

  15. One Plus OneOne Plus One: A Novel by Jojo Moyes
    “A single mom, her math genius daughter, her eye-shadow-wearing stepson, a wealthy computer geek and a smelly dog all get into a car… it sounds like the start of a bad joke, but it’s actually another charming novel from Jojo Moyes. It’s more of a traditional romance than Me Before You, but will also appeal to fans of quirky, hard-working characters. A quick read and perfect for summer.”
    Emily Wichman, Clermont County Public Library, Milford, OH
  16.  

  17. LandlineLandline by Rainbow Rowell
    Landline explores the delicate balance women make between work and family, considering the tradeoffs and pain. Rowell has a special gift for offering incredible insights into ordinary life. Never heavy-handed, Rowell’s writing is delivered with humor and grace. I finish all of her books wanting to laugh and cry at the same time — they are that moving. Landline captured my heart.”
    Andrea Larson, Cook Memorial Public Library, Libertyville, IL
  18.  

  19. LongbournLongbourn by Jo Baker
    “Using Pride and Prejudice’s familiar setting and characters, Baker tells a very different story of family, love and self-discovery. Bold and intelligent, Sarah is an orphaned housemaid whose days are filled with hard, body-punishing work. Baker doesn’t sugar-coat. A beautiful, uplifting novel full of mystery, hope and romance. Highly recommended for Austen fans and historical fiction readers.”
    Jenifer May, Secaucus Public Library, Secaucus, NJ

 

See http://libraryreads.org for more information and find your next great read!

 


Posted by:


Mark your Calendar: Winter Book Sales

Thursday, November 20th, 2014

BooksGet a great deal on some great books. Shop our upcoming book sales, sponsored by the Friends of the Library.

Walker Branch
Thursday, December 4, 9:30 AM – 8:00 PM
Friday, December 5, 9:30 AM – 5:00 PM
Saturday, December 6, 9:30 AM – 5:00 PM

Plainfield Township Branch
Saturday, December 6, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Sunday, December 7, 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Caledonia Township Branch
Saturday, December 13 – Saturday, December 20, during open hours

Plainfield Township Branch
Friday, January 9, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Saturday, January 10, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Sunday, January 11, 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Monday, January 12, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM

Wyoming Branch
Saturday, January 24, 9:30 AM – 4:00 PM

Friends of the Sand Lake/Nelson Township Library Craft and Book Sale
Visit the group’s booth at the Resurrection Lutheran Church (180 Northland Dr. in Sand Lake). Purchase books, crafts and raffle tickets to win the Friends’ quilt, which will be on display.
Saturday, December 6, 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

 


Posted by:


LinkedIn Boot Camp Canceled

Thursday, November 20th, 2014

Tonight’s LinkedIn Boot Camp scheduled for 6:00 PM at the Grandville Branch has been canceled. We apologize for any inconvenience and will try to reschedule with the presenter. Drive safe, everyone.


Posted by:


Celebrate the Season!

Wednesday, November 19th, 2014

SNowflakeCelebrate the holiday season with KDL! We are offering all kinds of exciting programs for children, families and adults this winter.  Don’t miss out on all the free fun! Please click on the program title for dates, times and locations.

3D Paper Snowflakes
Make a six-pointed star for any occasion, whether it’s the holidays, a baby shower, graduation or just something pretty for your home. Pre-registration is required and spots are limited. For adults.

Gingerbread Lane
Stroll down Gingerbread Lane and enjoy tasty gingerbread stories. Each child will make a simple gingerbread house. Pre-registration is required and participant spots are limited. For all ages.

The Reindeer Are Coming!
Traveling all the way from the North Pole (via Rooftop Landing Reindeer Farms), live reindeer will be visiting the library. Dress warmly and don’t forget the camera! For all ages.

Mush!
Tun-Dra Kennels owners will talk about sled dogs, mushing equipment and the Iditarod. Families can meet the dogs and watch a demonstration outside, weather permitting. For all ages.

Countdown to Happy “Noon” Year!
We’re giving kids an exciting way to ring in 2015 with a countdown, noisemakers, goodies and fun — at an hour that won’t keep them up way past their bedtimes. Sponsored by the Friends of the Library. For all ages.

Winter Snow Party
Celebrate winter wonderland indoors with crafts, games and activities! For ages 6 and younger.

 


Posted by:


Yes, We’re Open!

Wednesday, November 19th, 2014

snow.gif

It’s another snow day for lots of kids in the area,
but KDL branches remain OPEN!
All programs will take place as scheduled.

Please drive carefully if you choose to visit us today.


Posted by: