KDL Blog ‘News’ Category

KDL Closing at 5:00 PM on Wednesday, Feb. 24

Wednesday, February 24th, 2016

Due to severe weather and travel conditions, all KDL branches will close at 5:00 PM today (Wednesday, February 24). All evening programs except the KD aLe Wrap Up Party at Gravel Bottom Brewery are cancelled. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

KDL Logo IEE


Posted by:


Clutter-free and Ready for Spring!

Wednesday, February 24th, 2016

It’s almost spring! Get ready for spring cleaning with some help from KDL.

Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up
Life-Changing Magic

Clear the Clutter, Find the Happiness
Clear the Clutter

Mess: One Man’s Struggle to Clean Up His House and His Act
Mess

The Hoarder in You: How to Live a Happier, Healthier, Uncluttered Life
Hoarder

Hoarders. The Complete Season One
hoarders


Posted by:


March LibraryReads Staff Picks

Monday, February 22nd, 2016


You already know that your local KDL staff provide great recommendations when you’re looking for your next favorite book. Now library staff across the nation have connected to offer LibraryReads, a nationwide “Top 10” list of favorite titles each month! Check out these upcoming titles that librarians across the country have read, loved, and want to share with you.

  1. The Summer Before the War: A NovelLibraryReadsFavoriteThe Summer Before the War: A Novel by Helen Simonson
    “Fans of Simonson’s Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand have reason to rejoice. She has created another engaging novel full of winsome characters, this time set during the summer before the outbreak of World War I. Follow the story of headstrong, independent Beatrice Nash and kind but stuffy surgeon-in-training Hugh Grange along with his formidable Aunt Agatha. Make a cup of tea and prepare to savor every page!”
    Paulette Brooks, Elm Grove Public Library, Elm Grove, WI
  2.  

  3. Jane SteeleJane Steele by Lyndsay Faye
    Jane Steele is a great read for lovers of Victorian literature who especially love their characters to have a lot of pluck! Jane Steele is the adventurous, irreverent, foul-mouthed broad that I so often loved about Jane Eyre, but in more wily circumstances. Remember that fabulous scene in Jane Eyre when she stands up to her aunt for the first time, and how you wanted to stand up from your comfy reading chair and cheer for her? Imagine an entire book just of those sorts of scenes. Absolutely fabulous fun!”
    Abbey Stroop, Herrick District Library, Holland, MI
  4.  

  5. The PassengerThe Passenger by Lisa Lutz
    “This is a compulsively readable story of a young woman who has to keep switching identities and stay on the run. Is she a reliable narrator or not? What was the original event that sent her on the run? There is a lot of action and suspense as she tries to survive and evade the law while trying to keep her moral center intact. Unlike Lutz’s Spellman books, this reads more like a Charles Portis road novel, though considerably more serious and dangerous. Highly recommended.”
    Beth DeGeer, Bartlesville Public Library, Bartlesville, OK
  6.  

  7. Marked In Flesh: A Novel of the OthersMarked In Flesh: A Novel of the Others by Anne Bishop
    “In this thrilling installment, Bishop continues to explore the relationships of The Others and the humans who live at the Lakeside compound. Meanwhile, Humans First and Last organization has been making themselves known, after the attacks in the previous book that killed numerous Others along with their “Wolf Lover” friends, they are not backing down. Little do they know it’s not the Others humans need to be wary of but the Elders for which the Others act as a buffer. This is an excellent installment in the novels of the Others, exciting, heart-wrenching and suspenseful.”
    Emily Peros, Denver Public Library, Denver, CO
  8.  

  9. The NestThe Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney
    “If you think your family is dysfunctional, move over, because here come the Plumbs. Suddenly faced with the dismantling of the nest egg they’ve counted on to solve their financial woes, the four Plumb siblings have to grow up, and fast. But though they all do some terrible things in the name of ambition, there’s something lovable about the Plumbs. You can’t fail to be moved by the beating heart of this novel, which seems to say that family, for good or ill, unites us all.”
    Mary Kinser, Whatcom County Library System, Bellingham, WA
  10.  

  11. Fool Me OnceFool Me Once by Harlan Coben
    “Coben has made me lose more sleep over the years than all my other favorite authors combined. Joe Burkett has been murdered in front of his wife Maya. They have a two year old daughter who has a nanny. After the funeral, a friend gives her a picture frame that hides a camera so she can check on the care the nanny is providing her daughter. She watches the recording. Can she believe what she saw? Is she going crazy? Both? Buy a ticket for the coaster and find out for yourself. Keep your hands inside the car; it’s going to be a wild ride.”
    Lisa Sprague, Public Services Librarian, Enfield Public Library, Enfield, CT
  12.  

  13. The Madwoman Upstairs: A NovelThe Madwoman Upstairs: A Novel by Catherine Lowell
    “Meet Samantha Whipple, a descendant of the Bronte family, who arrives at Oxford to study literature, as her father did before her. She receives a copy of Jane Eyre — a volume that she thought was destroyed in the fire that took her father’s life. When a second Bronte novel belonging to her father turns up, she is convinced he has staged an elaborate treasure hunt for her promised inheritance. Enlisting the help of her sexy, young professor, Samantha sets out on a quest to find buried treasure and learns the value of friendship and courage along the way.”
    Kristen McCallum, Algonquin Area Public Library, Algonquin, IL
  14.  

  15. Because of Miss BridgertonBecause of Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn
    “This is the first in a prequel series to Quinn’s popular Bridgerton series, set a generation earlier. Billie Bridgerton spent her childhood running wild with the neighboring Rokesbys, Andrew, Edward, and Mary. Now she runs the family estate for her father and still runs as wild as she can. The eldest Rokesby, George, never really approved of Billie, but when he rescues her from a roof they begin to come to a new understanding.”
    Mary Aileen Buss, Long Beach Public Library, NY
  16.  

  17. Dimestore: A Writer's LifeDimestore: A Writer’s Life by Lee Smith
    “Evenly divided between a book about Smith’s process and her life, first as a Southern mountain child and, later, as the parent of a schizophrenic child, this book is interesting and compelling. Despite being surrounded by loving family and being blessed with an active imagination, Lee copes with a mentally ill mother. Later, her son’s mental illness and early death brings her to the breaking point but she is saved by her writing. This is a read-alike for Karr’s The Liars Club. It desperately needs a cinematic translation for its elegant and evocative writing.”
    Lois Gross, Hoboken Public Library, Hoboken, NJ
  18.  

  19. All Things Cease to Appear: A NovelAll Things Cease to Appear: A Novel by Elizabeth Brundage
    “When the Clare family purchases a ramshackle farmhouse at a foreclosure auction, it appears that all is well in their world, until George comes home one evening from his job as an Art History Professor at the local private college and finds his wife murdered and their three-year-old untended yet unharmed. Told through the eyes of the townspeople and the families involved, this is a gorgeously unsettling look at a marriage and what happens to a community in the process of change.”
    Jennifer Dayton, Darien Library, Darien, CT

 

See http://libraryreads.org for more information and find your next great read!

 


Posted by:


Diverse Books for Kids and Teens

Wednesday, February 17th, 2016

Educator Rudine Sims Bishop wrote of literature as “mirrors” and “windows” where we can both see ourselves and see the lives of other people (you can read her full thoughts here). Reading a wide variety of authentic books about different people can help kids and teens connect with others and with a global society. Here are just a few of my recommendations:

 

Picture Books:

martin's big wordsMartin’s Big Words

February is African American History month, and this picture book biography helps celebrate this champion of human rights.

 

 

 

 

to marketTo Market! To Market!

Take a trip to an Indian market with this picture book. Its unique size and layout is great for talking about artistic choices with children and its vivid colors and typography create an interactive reading experience.

 

 

Chapter Books for Kids:

turtle of oman

The Turtle of Oman

Aref is a third-grader living in Oman when his father is accepted at the University of Michigan for graduate study. But Aref is heartbroken at leaving his home in Oman and his beloved Siddi, his grandfather. Will Aref be able to hold on to everything he loves about Oman while still looking forward to a new life in Michigan?

 

 

 

one crazy summer

One Crazy Summer

Combining humor with a vivid portrayal of growing up African American during the 1960s and the Black Panther movement, Rita Williams-Garcia tells the tale of the intrepid and spunky eleven-year-old Delphine and her two sisters as they navigate their relationship with their mother and learn a few things about themselves. Follow it up with more tales about the sisters in the sequels P.S. Be Eleven and Gone Crazy in Alabama.

 

 

Books for Teens:

tequila wormThe Tequila Worm

Fourteen-year-old Sofia lives in a beloved close-knit Mexican community in Texas but also dreams of a world outside her home. She works hard to prove herself and ends up being accepted to a prestigious boarding school in Austin. The storytelling traditions of her family and community help her to face racism, an unfamiliar world, and growing up in this nuanced and rich novel based on the author’s personal experiences.

 

 

 

march book 1March: Book One

Based on Congressman John Lewis’s experiences in the Civil Rights Movement, this graphic novel is the first in a planned trilogy capturing the images and words of a movement that changed American history and one that still sparks calls to action for human rights and dignity today. Continue the story with March: Book Two.

 

 

 

American Born Chineseamerican born chinese

This graphic novel illustrates three intertwining tales that come together in a powerful demonstration of belonging and identity. With Gene Luen Yang just appointed the U.S. National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, it’s a great time to read or reread his work!

 

 

 

1919 Varieties of Gazelle: Poems of the Middle East

Naomi Shihab Nye, a poet with Israeli and Palestinian ties, shines a light on the Middle East, its conflicts, and the voices and hopes of its people in this collection of poetry.

 

 

 

 

Check out this booklist for more recommendations or ask a librarian!

 

 


Posted by:


Seed Library Volunteer Opportunity

Monday, February 15th, 2016

SeedLibraryLogoWe need your help! We are looking for people who are willing to help pack and distribute seeds for the KDL Seed Library. This is your chance to help people learn to grow their own food and learn to save seeds. Refreshments will be provided.

Volunteer opportunities will take place at the KDL Service Center (814 West River Center Dr. NE in Comstock Park) from 8:00 AM – 2:00 PM on Friday, February 26 and from 12:00 – 5:00 PM on Monday, February 29. More information and the sign-up link can be found here. Please note that you will have to create a simple user account to sign up. If you have questions, please contact Brett at bdahlberg@kdl.org.

We hope to see you there!


Posted by:


Humor is All You Need

Friday, February 12th, 2016

Sorry Paul McCartney, but sometimes love humor is all you need! Here are a few picks for when you just need a laugh.

DVDs

Shaun of the Dead

Shaun of the Dead

Ghostbusters

Ghostbusters

Young Frankenstein

Young Frankenstein

Dr. Strangelove, or How I Stopped Worrying and Learned to Love the Bomb

Dr Strangelove

The Royal Tenenbaums

Books

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

me talk pretty one day

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

hyperbole and a half

Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink

Welcome to Night Vale

The Hitchhiker’s Guide To the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

The Color of Magic Discworld #1 by Terry Pratchett

The Color of Magic

Stand-Up Comedy

“Ask Me About My New God!” by Maria Bamford

“Mr. Universe” by Jim Gaffigan


Posted by:


KD aLe Wrap Up Party

Thursday, February 11th, 2016

gb12Celebrate another successful season of KD aLe at 6:30 PM on Wednesday, February 24 at Gravel Bottom Brewery (418 Ada Dr. SE, Ada). On tap will be the winning brew from our KDL Home Brewing Competition, as well as a re-release of the scotch ale Gravel Bottom brewed for KD aLe last year. Food, beer, music, door prizes and more will make this an all-around fun and exciting evening. Be there!

 

 


Posted by:


If You Like “Downton Abbey,” Try These…

Wednesday, February 10th, 2016

 

As the Downton Abbey series finale approaches, (the very last episode is only a month away!) you may want to prepare yourself and your library card. KDL has just the medicine for some serious Downton Abbey withdrawal. Check out these other British series for more scheming villains and suspenseful family drama. As the Dowager Countess of Grantham says, “Stop whining and find something to do.”

 

The Forsyte SagaForsyte Saga

Based on the Nobel Prize-winning novels by John Galsworthy, The Forsyte Saga is an epic and highly praised series spanning three generations of the powerful Forsyte family at the turn of the 20th century. Beneath the family’s imposing veneer lies a festering core of unhappy and brutal relationships.

Indian Summersindian summers

Set against the sweeping grandeur of the Himalayas and tea plantations of Northern India, this epic drama tells the rich and explosive story of the decline of the British Empire and the birth of modern India, from both sides of the experience.

Mr. SelfridgeMr Selfridge

Pioneering and reckless, with an almost manic energy, Harry Selfridge created a theater of retail for early 1900s Londoners where any topic or trend that was new, exciting, entertaining-or sometimes just eccentric-was showcased. Based on the book Shopping, Seduction and Mr. Selfridge by author Lindy Woodhead.

Poldarkpoldark

Ross Poldark rides again in a swashbuckling new adaptation of the hit series that helped launch Masterpiece in the 1970s. Captain Poldark is a redcoat who returns to Cornwall after the American Revolution and finds that his fighting days are far from over.

The Way We Live NowindexC6W0EA6V

This satire of Victorian society in London, shows the trials and tribulations of young love, the pettiness of upper class life, the raw energy and excitement of the most powerful city the world had ever seen, and the greed and corruption that lay just below its glittering surface.


Posted by:


Win Tickets to Marvel Universe Live!

Tuesday, February 9th, 2016

Marvel Universe Live***Winners have been selected and emailed.

We are excited to offer you the chance to win a family four-pack of ticket vouchers to Marvel Universe Live! It’s easy (and fun!) to enter. Leave us a comment on this blog post and answer this question: If a librarian had a super power, what would it be? Please submit your comment by 8:00 AM on Monday, February 22. Two lucky winners will be contacted by email.

Marvel Universe Live will be playing at the Van Andel Arena March 31 – April 3. Vouchers can be redeemed at the box office for tickets to any of the following shows:
Thursday, March 31, 7:30 PM
Friday, April 1, 7:30 PM
Saturday, April 2, 11:30 AM, 3:30 PM or 7:30 PM
Sunday, April 3, 1:00 PM or 5:00 PM

Good luck!


Posted by:


Tax Resources and Information

Monday, February 8th, 2016

TaxesWe are here to help make submitting your taxes a bit easier. Visit the Tax Resources and Information page on our website for all kinds of valuable information, including links to popular forms.  Library staff can assist you in finding and printing tax forms, although legal and ethical codes prohibit staff from giving income tax advice or opinions. Normal printing and copy fees will apply to all tax forms printed from the internet or photocopied.


Posted by: