A Brand New Literature Award

For those of you who like lists (which I do), there’s a new literary prize out there beginning this year. The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction will be awarded — with $5,000 cash — to the author of the best book for adult readers in those two categories. Two additional finalists will also be chosen, and they will get $1,500.  The winners will be chosen this month.

The new award is sponsored by two divisions of the American Library Association. One of these divisions, The Notable Book Council, has since 1944 issued a list of “25 very good, very readable, and at times very important fiction, nonfiction, and poetry books for the adult reader.”  The new Carnegie Medal award winners will be drawn from the Notable Book list, and also from Booklist’s Editor’s Choice Awards. Check out these Carnegie Medal finalists — have you read any of them?




Powered By DT Author Box

Written by Nancy


Posted by:

Comments are closed.