Newbery, Caldecott, and Printz Awards 2013 Predictions

The colder weather and the influx of new Christmas picture books has us thinking ahead to January, which, along with snow, brings the announcement of the Newbery, Caldecott, and Printz Awards! We’re so excited about the announcement that we’ve put together our own predictions. So read on, go check one out, make your own prediction, and then tune in in January for the winners!

Newbery 2013:

Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schiltz (Newbery Award medalist for Good Masters! Sweet Ladies!)

Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead (Stead was 2011’s Newbery Award medalist for When You Reach Me)

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

The Lions of Little Rock by Kristin Levine

The Mighty Miss Malone by Christopher Paul Curtis (Newbery honored for The Watsons Go to Birmingham)

One for the Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt


Caldecott 2013

Bear Has a Story to Tell by Philip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin E. Stead (another contender could be Erin Stead’s illustrations in Julie Fogliano’s And Then It’s Spring)

Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen (other contenders illustrated by Klassen could be the gorgeous House Held Up By Trees, written by Ted Kooser, or the darkly funny This is Not My Hat, written by Klassen and a follow-up to his I Want My Hat Back).

Chole and the Lion by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Adam Rex

The Isomniacs by Karina Wolf, illustrated by Sean and Ben Hilts (first-time picture book creators, which is always interesting!)

Green by Laura Vaccaro Seeger (Concept book that would be an interesting win!)


Printz Award 2013:

Crow by Barbara Wright

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (Besides being a popular social media presence, Green also holds the title of Printz award winner for the poignant  Looking for Alaska and honored for An Abundance of Katherines)

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (another heavy hitter: Stiefvater was honored last year by the Printz committee for The Scorpio Races)

The Brides of Rollrock Island by Margo Lanagan (Lanagan is already a Printz award winner for Black Juice)

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

The Diviners by Libba Bray (Printz awarded for Going Bovine)



Powered By DT Author Box

Written by Dawn

Posted by:

Comments are closed.