2013 ALA Youth Book Awards

The American Library Association announced yesterday the yearly awards for youth books and media for 2013. The complete list can be found on the ALA site. The book awards were as follows:


The 2013 Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature was awarded to The One and Only Ivan, written by Katherine Applegate (it should be noted that Katherine grew up in Grand Rapids!). Three Newbery Honor Books also were named: Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz, Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin and Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage



The 2013 Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children was awarded to This Is Not My Hat, illustrated and written by Jon Klassen. Five Caldecott Honor Books also were named: Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds; Extra Yarn, illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett; Green, illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger; One Cool Friend, illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo and Sleep Like a Tiger, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Mary Logue.


Lastly, the 2013 Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults was awarded to In Darkness, written by Nick Lake. Four Printz Honor Books also were named: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, Dodger by Terry Pratchett, and The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna.




Be sure to look for these books at your local KDL branch!

Powered By DT Author Box

Written by Adam


Adam is a librarian at Kent District Library’s Kentwood Branch.

Posted by:

Comments are closed.