September LibraryReads Staff Picks


You already know that your local KDL staff provide great recommendations when you’re looking for your next favorite book. Now library staff across the nation have connected to offer LibraryReads, a nationwide “Top 10″ list of favorite titles each month! Check out these upcoming titles that librarians across the country have read, loved, and want to share with you.

  1. Smoke Gets in Your EyesLibraryReadsFavoriteSmoke Gets in Your Eyes:
    And Other Lessons from the Crematory
    by Caitlin Doughty
    “Part memoir, part exposé of the death industry, and part instruction manual for aspiring morticians. First-time author Doughty has written an attention-grabbing book that is sure to start some provocative discussions. Fans of Mary Roach’s Stiff and anyone who enjoys an honest, well-written autobiography will appreciate this quirky story.”
    Patty Falconer, Hampstead Public Library, Hampstead, NH
  2.  

  3. Station ElevenStation Eleven: A Novel by Emily St. John Mandel
    “An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson.”
    Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC
  4.  

  5. The Secret PlaceThe Secret Place by Tana French
    “French has broken my heart yet again with her fifth novel, which examines the ways in which teenagers and adults can be wily, calculating, and backstabbing, even with their friends. The tension-filled flashback narratives, relating to a murder investigation in suburban Dublin, will keep you turning pages late into the night.”
    Alison McCarty, Nassau County Public Library System, Callahan, FL
  6.  

  7. RoomsRooms: A Novel by Lauren Oliver
    “A family comes to terms with their estranged father’s death in Oliver’s first novel for adults. Told from the perspective of two ghosts living in the old house, this unique story weaves characters and explores their various past connections. Great book!”
    Rachel Fewell, Denver Public Library, Denver, CO
  8.  

  9. The Children ActThe Children Act by Ian McEwan
    “Judge Fiona Maye is at a difficult point in her marriage. Taking refuge in addressing other people’s problems in family court, Fiona extends herself more than usual, meeting a boy whose future is in her hands. McEwan is a masterful observer of human distress. With a simple story and flawed, genuine characters, this novel is poignant and insightful.”
    Jennifer Alexander, St. Louis County Library, St. Louis, MO
  10.  

  11. The DistanceThe Distance: A Thriller by Helen Giltrow
    “Imagine a modern-day Robin Hood who deals not in money, but identity. Karla, the protagonist of The Distance, is a tech guru with a conscience, and the security of several nations dependent on her. This nuanced book kept me on the edge of my seat. I cannot wait until the next one comes out.”
    Cathy Scheib, Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis, IN
  12.  

  13. HorrorstorHorrorstor: A Novel by Grady Hendrix
    “You know how some horror movies would work better as novels? Horrorstor is that book, perfectly capturing everything that is terrific about the horror genre. In its catalog-style pages, you’ll find a hefty dose of satire, as a Scandinavian furniture store is transformed overnight into a prison. With characters that you’re rooting for and terror that creeps up on you, Horrorstor will keep you up all night in the best possible way.”
    Donna Matturri, Pickerington Public Library, Pickerington, OH
  14.  

  15. The Paying GuestsThe Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
    “You can almost bet that a situation with long-term guests — paying or not — is not going to turn out well. This novel by Waters, who many know from her earlier books Tipping the Velvet and The Little Stranger, will keep you turning the page to see just how tense things can get, and how far fear and passion can push someone.”
    Elizabeth Angelastro, Manlius Library, Manlius, NY
  16.  

  17. The Witch with No NameThe Witch with No Name by Kim Harrison
    “In this book, Harrison ends her long-running Hollows series, featuring witch Rachel Morgan, vampire Ivy, and pixy Jenks. Rachel’s come a long way; now, she and her friends attempt the impossible and face their toughest battle yet. Harrison skillfully wraps up many plot points, leaving readers sad that the series is over but satisfied by its ending. Fans will surely cheer Rachel on and shed a tear or two.”
    Ilene Lefkowitz, Denville Public Library, Denville, NJ
  18.  

  19. Season of StormsSeason of Storms by Susanna Kearsley
    “Once again, Kearsley introduces you to a cast of characters who will quickly hold a special place in your heart. Celia and Alex mirror lovers from decades past, sharing similar secrets and passions. Flashbacks are woven seamlessly into the storyline, and the strong family component is handled beautifully, with surprising twists and turns.”
    Marianne Colton, Lockport Public Library, Lockport, NY

 

See http://libraryreads.org for more information and find your next great read!

 

Powered By DT Author Box

Written by Sheri

Sheri

Sheri is the Kent District Library Webmaster. She loves KDL’s eBook collection and her NOOK because they allow her to fit a whole stack of books in her purse to take with her wherever she goes.



Posted by:

Leave a Reply

Comment Policy