Seed Library Volunteer Opportunity

March 4th, 2016

SeedLibraryLogoWe need your help! We are looking for people who are willing to help pack and distribute seeds for the KDL Seed Library. This is your chance to help people learn to grow their own food and learn to save seeds. Refreshments will be provided.

This event will take place at the KDL Service Center (814 West River Center Dr. NE in Comstock Park) from 8:30 AM – 2:00 PM on Monday, March 7. More information and the sign-up link can be found here. Please note that you will have to create a simple user account to sign up.

We hope to see you there!


Posted by:

Author Louise Rennison Dies at Age 64

March 3rd, 2016

louise+rennisonLouise Rennison, beloved author of the hilarious Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series, passed away February 29, 2016.  Louise Rennison had a way of writing Georgia that was amusing to all ages but also very touching and realistic.  “The research period for each book usually included a visit to a secondary school, an experience the author likened to a “rock concert”. While some head teachers thought her subject matter too frank, she was unrepentant. “Surely they know what to expect [from my books]; they know they’re all about boys and snogging and all those experiences. What else am I going to talk about?

Each Georgia book also included British slang definitions which were liberally used throughout her books.  For those alone, you might want to check out a book and have a good laugh because that is what Louise would want.


Posted by:

Congratulations Teen Film Festival Winners!

March 2nd, 2016

TeenFilmFestivalLogoCongratulations to our winners and to everyone who was featured in the 2016 Teen Film Festival! We had an awesome time and hope you did too! All of the films are posted on YouTube and linked below. Without further ado, here are the winners!

Best Live Action Short:  Sno Day Off, Directed by Jessica Ryan
Best Commercial:  Tae – 25, Directed by Madelyn Jester, Alena Buterakos & Emma Sorenson
Best Animation: 2015 North Park Animated Poetry Project, North Park Montessori students
Best Editor: Noah Conner, No Outlet

Best Director: Ezra Moreno, Tales from the Tundra
Best Actor:  Luke McGee, Chupacabra of Darkness
Best Actress: Jessica Ryan, Sno Day Off
Best Screenplay: Katherine Hessler, Davis and Mary
People’s Choice Award: Chupacabra of Darkness, Directed by Luke McGee

Congratulations again!

Mark your calendars for next year’s Festival. Entries will be accepted for the 2017 Teen Film Festival from Saturday, October 1, 2016 – Friday, January 20, 2017.


Posted by:

KDL Closing at Noon

March 1st, 2016

Due to increasingly hazardous travel conditions, all KDL locations will close at noon today, Tuesday, March 1. All afternoon and evening events are cancelled. Please remember that our digital collection is always available at www.kdl.org/downloads! Stay safe!


Posted by:

Check Out a Hot Spot

February 29th, 2016

Hot SpotBig news! Five KDL branches now offer circulating hot spots! Adult KDL cardholders can check out a Verizon Jetpack 4G LTE for up to 3 weeks at the following branches: Alto, Englehardt (Lowell), Nelson Township/Sand Lake, Spencer Township and Tyrone Township. All 18 KDL branches recently started offering circulating iPads, and this is a great enhancement to that service. You can place a hold on a hot spot; however, they will not travel in delivery from branch to branch. (Please note: If your home/pick-up branch is not one of the five libraries offering hot spots, you will need to call 616-784-2007 to place a hold.)

“With so much of everyday life – from plane tickets to product rebates – tied to the Internet, offering this service will make it easier for patrons who live in areas with poor access to get tasks done,” said Sandy Graham, Branch Manager of the Alto Branch. “Along with that, this device is so easy and convenient to use, it will give users the confidence to independently increase their digital skills.”

Visit a participating branch and we’ll be happy to help get you started.

 


Posted by:

Coffee and Tea Programs @ KDL

February 25th, 2016

kdlCaffeinatedLogo_web-300x300We’re headed into another season of unique adult programming. Up next: KDL Caffeinated, where we bring in (or visit) some of the area’s leading experts on hot things steeped, roasted, brewed and sipped. The program line-up includes:

My Cuppa Tea: Create Custom Tea Blends for Health & Wellness
Ferris Coffee & Nut Tour and Tasting
How to Make the Best Coffee
Madcap Coffee Company: Pour Over Class
Tea at the Township Hall: Ladies of the Lighthouses

Please click the program title for more information, including dates, times and locations.


Posted by:

KDL CLOSED UNTIL NOON

February 25th, 2016

Due to hazardous road conditions KDL branches will remain closed until noon today (Thursday, Feb. 25). All morning programs are cancelled. Stay safe and we hope to see you later today.


Posted by:

KDL Closing at 5:00 PM on Wednesday, Feb. 24

February 24th, 2016

Due to severe weather and travel conditions, all KDL branches will close at 5:00 PM today (Wednesday, February 24). All evening programs except the KD aLe Wrap Up Party at Gravel Bottom Brewery are cancelled. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

KDL Logo IEE


Posted by:

Clutter-free and Ready for Spring!

February 24th, 2016

It’s almost spring! Get ready for spring cleaning with some help from KDL.

Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up
Life-Changing Magic

Clear the Clutter, Find the Happiness
Clear the Clutter

Mess: One Man’s Struggle to Clean Up His House and His Act
Mess

The Hoarder in You: How to Live a Happier, Healthier, Uncluttered Life
Hoarder

Hoarders. The Complete Season One
hoarders


Posted by:

March LibraryReads Staff Picks

February 22nd, 2016


You already know that your local KDL staff provide great recommendations when you’re looking for your next favorite book. Now library staff across the nation have connected to offer LibraryReads, a nationwide “Top 10” list of favorite titles each month! Check out these upcoming titles that librarians across the country have read, loved, and want to share with you.

  1. The Summer Before the War: A NovelLibraryReadsFavoriteThe Summer Before the War: A Novel by Helen Simonson
    “Fans of Simonson’s Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand have reason to rejoice. She has created another engaging novel full of winsome characters, this time set during the summer before the outbreak of World War I. Follow the story of headstrong, independent Beatrice Nash and kind but stuffy surgeon-in-training Hugh Grange along with his formidable Aunt Agatha. Make a cup of tea and prepare to savor every page!”
    Paulette Brooks, Elm Grove Public Library, Elm Grove, WI
  2.  

  3. Jane SteeleJane Steele by Lyndsay Faye
    Jane Steele is a great read for lovers of Victorian literature who especially love their characters to have a lot of pluck! Jane Steele is the adventurous, irreverent, foul-mouthed broad that I so often loved about Jane Eyre, but in more wily circumstances. Remember that fabulous scene in Jane Eyre when she stands up to her aunt for the first time, and how you wanted to stand up from your comfy reading chair and cheer for her? Imagine an entire book just of those sorts of scenes. Absolutely fabulous fun!”
    Abbey Stroop, Herrick District Library, Holland, MI
  4.  

  5. The PassengerThe Passenger by Lisa Lutz
    “This is a compulsively readable story of a young woman who has to keep switching identities and stay on the run. Is she a reliable narrator or not? What was the original event that sent her on the run? There is a lot of action and suspense as she tries to survive and evade the law while trying to keep her moral center intact. Unlike Lutz’s Spellman books, this reads more like a Charles Portis road novel, though considerably more serious and dangerous. Highly recommended.”
    Beth DeGeer, Bartlesville Public Library, Bartlesville, OK
  6.  

  7. Marked In Flesh: A Novel of the OthersMarked In Flesh: A Novel of the Others by Anne Bishop
    “In this thrilling installment, Bishop continues to explore the relationships of The Others and the humans who live at the Lakeside compound. Meanwhile, Humans First and Last organization has been making themselves known, after the attacks in the previous book that killed numerous Others along with their “Wolf Lover” friends, they are not backing down. Little do they know it’s not the Others humans need to be wary of but the Elders for which the Others act as a buffer. This is an excellent installment in the novels of the Others, exciting, heart-wrenching and suspenseful.”
    Emily Peros, Denver Public Library, Denver, CO
  8.  

  9. The NestThe Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney
    “If you think your family is dysfunctional, move over, because here come the Plumbs. Suddenly faced with the dismantling of the nest egg they’ve counted on to solve their financial woes, the four Plumb siblings have to grow up, and fast. But though they all do some terrible things in the name of ambition, there’s something lovable about the Plumbs. You can’t fail to be moved by the beating heart of this novel, which seems to say that family, for good or ill, unites us all.”
    Mary Kinser, Whatcom County Library System, Bellingham, WA
  10.  

  11. Fool Me OnceFool Me Once by Harlan Coben
    “Coben has made me lose more sleep over the years than all my other favorite authors combined. Joe Burkett has been murdered in front of his wife Maya. They have a two year old daughter who has a nanny. After the funeral, a friend gives her a picture frame that hides a camera so she can check on the care the nanny is providing her daughter. She watches the recording. Can she believe what she saw? Is she going crazy? Both? Buy a ticket for the coaster and find out for yourself. Keep your hands inside the car; it’s going to be a wild ride.”
    Lisa Sprague, Public Services Librarian, Enfield Public Library, Enfield, CT
  12.  

  13. The Madwoman Upstairs: A NovelThe Madwoman Upstairs: A Novel by Catherine Lowell
    “Meet Samantha Whipple, a descendant of the Bronte family, who arrives at Oxford to study literature, as her father did before her. She receives a copy of Jane Eyre — a volume that she thought was destroyed in the fire that took her father’s life. When a second Bronte novel belonging to her father turns up, she is convinced he has staged an elaborate treasure hunt for her promised inheritance. Enlisting the help of her sexy, young professor, Samantha sets out on a quest to find buried treasure and learns the value of friendship and courage along the way.”
    Kristen McCallum, Algonquin Area Public Library, Algonquin, IL
  14.  

  15. Because of Miss BridgertonBecause of Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn
    “This is the first in a prequel series to Quinn’s popular Bridgerton series, set a generation earlier. Billie Bridgerton spent her childhood running wild with the neighboring Rokesbys, Andrew, Edward, and Mary. Now she runs the family estate for her father and still runs as wild as she can. The eldest Rokesby, George, never really approved of Billie, but when he rescues her from a roof they begin to come to a new understanding.”
    Mary Aileen Buss, Long Beach Public Library, NY
  16.  

  17. Dimestore: A Writer's LifeDimestore: A Writer’s Life by Lee Smith
    “Evenly divided between a book about Smith’s process and her life, first as a Southern mountain child and, later, as the parent of a schizophrenic child, this book is interesting and compelling. Despite being surrounded by loving family and being blessed with an active imagination, Lee copes with a mentally ill mother. Later, her son’s mental illness and early death brings her to the breaking point but she is saved by her writing. This is a read-alike for Karr’s The Liars Club. It desperately needs a cinematic translation for its elegant and evocative writing.”
    Lois Gross, Hoboken Public Library, Hoboken, NJ
  18.  

  19. All Things Cease to Appear: A NovelAll Things Cease to Appear: A Novel by Elizabeth Brundage
    “When the Clare family purchases a ramshackle farmhouse at a foreclosure auction, it appears that all is well in their world, until George comes home one evening from his job as an Art History Professor at the local private college and finds his wife murdered and their three-year-old untended yet unharmed. Told through the eyes of the townspeople and the families involved, this is a gorgeously unsettling look at a marriage and what happens to a community in the process of change.”
    Jennifer Dayton, Darien Library, Darien, CT

 

See http://libraryreads.org for more information and find your next great read!

 


Posted by: